Trachymyrmex septentrionalis rides again!

Today while weeding the new native flower bed I found the nest of Trachymyrmex septentrionalis. Whew! I am so glad that I didn’t destroy the colony. The colony was located outside of the two layers of buried plastic (never bury plastic sheets as part of your gardening – it is just dumb). I watched them for quite a while on Sunday morning taking out the trash and bringing fresh frass into the nest – if only they would do the leaf cutting thing to the new flush of weeds in the new flower bed. Oh well, I guess that is my job. I am glad to see them back.

You can see the Trachymyrmex trash pile up against the orange stake marking a Rudbeckia. The nest entrance is where the white rock is in the foreground.

You can see the Trachymyrmex trash pile up against the orange stake marking a Rudbeckia. The nest entrance is where the white rock is in the foreground.

Photo of Trachymyrmex at the nest entrance.

Photo of Trachymyrmex at the nest entrance.

 

4 thoughts on “Trachymyrmex septentrionalis rides again!

  1. anthonyZ

    Cool! I’ve been getting into the ant diversity here, would be fun to come across some of these ants one day.

    Reply
    1. biologistsoup Post author

      Dear George
      Bringing Anthony will be problematic:
      1) He is an adult with his own scheduling issues
      2) He lives 1 state west of you and two states west of me – that just isn’t convenient.
      I hate to disappoint you, but when I make it to your holler out there in Booger County, I will be lucky to bring myself.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

