Son of Grocery Store Entomology

Today I bought some romaine lettuce for salad for dinner. I was very surprised to find 111_20130522_cCACoccinella californica on our lettuce! As someone who occasionally thinks about ladybugs, I thought to myself where there are predators there are often prey. You can imagine my happiness when I found aphids on the lettuce too! Then, as a bonus, there was a leafhopper!

The lettuce was not organic and the HQ of the farming corporation is Salinas, CA – a normal place to find Coccinella californica.

Aphid - cell phone photo

Aphid – cell phone photo

The salad was fine. I did wash the lettuce and kept the ladybug and leafhopper specimens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Son of Grocery Store Entomology

Leave a Reply

