Dectes texanus!!

Well, the chaos of moving is settling down and yesterday while grabbing my mail I wandered

Dectes texanus larva in a dissected soybean stem. Note the frass plug at the left end of stem (top).Collected 17 April 2013 Obion County, Tennessee.

Dectes texanus larva in a dissected soybean stem. Note the frass plug at the left end of stem (top).Collected 17 April 2013 Obion County, Tennessee.

out into the soybean field next to the road and looked at the old soybean stems. After looking at a couple hundred, I found one with a frass plug that indicates Dectes texanus has built an overwintering chamber inside the stem. I was curious if it was a pupa (I am waiting for D. texanus adults to come out of soybean stubble collected in Kenton, TN in late March) Рnot yet.

Dectes texanus is a favorite insect of mine. I think the first time I heard the adults singing in a soybean field I was hooked. Now that I am back in Dectes-land you can expect several more postings on this elegant insect in the coming months.

3 thoughts on “Dectes texanus!!

    1. biologistsoup Post author

      Anthony – I highly re ommed you split all the stems you can. Also get in touch with all the Kansas Decree folks – there is a lot to do! Maybe you can find Languria in your beans

      Reply

Leave a Reply

