And so it begins…

I have been without internet and involved in cross-country move related matters. Today my

Dung beetle trapping begins with digging a hole.

Dung beetle trapping begins with digging a hole.

life took a step toward normalcy and I began dung beetle trapping out here in Union City, TN. The weather has been cold and windy, highs in the 50’s, but I whipped up a pretty good batch of bait this morning so I hope to trap some interesting insects. Because our landlord has some animals that may mess up my traps (Guinea Fowl) i am forgoing my usual trapping into antifreeze and trapping into a solution of 1/2 cup salt, 2 cups water, and a gentle squirt of liquid soap – I will let you know how this ‘non-toxic’ insect kill solution works.

Trap is buried, baited, and hopefully ready to catch the heck out of dung beetles
Trap is buried, baited, and hopefully ready to catch the heck out of dung beetles
One thought on “And so it begins…

  1. Pingback: Running the traps | biologistsoup

Leave a Reply

