The uninteresting

Well, it happened again today, a friend removed the scales from eyes. I like beetles, really I do. The

Enodia portlandia at a feeding station and in the bait, there are Nitidulids

Enodia portlandia at a feeding station and in the bait, there are Nitidulids!

superfamily Cucujoidea should be a favorite of mine. It contains several diverse and interesting families including: Coccinellidae and Erotylidae which are families that a have worked with a bit and Phalacridae and Endomychidae which are two families that I would like to dig into a bit deeper. There is just so much awesome out there and it is difficult to take it all in… let alone work with it in one human lifetime. Basically, I am a Cucujoidea moron – heck, I am a Coccinellidae moron, AND I WORK (usually unpaid) WITH THEM ALL THE TIME! Well, George Sims was kind enough to point my idiocy out by offering me the opportunity to learn more about the Nitidulidae.

My introduction to Nitidulids was feeding stations (if you click through it is page 7) I set up in Big Oak Tree State Park to observe Enodia species – Glischrochilus quadrisignatus was always in my baits! Then during some cotton work I ran into the concept of Nitidulids as pollinators! Better still introduced beetle and endangered plant! I am always interested in interactions between native and non-native species, you never know what will happen.

Even with all of this, I had never embraced Nitidulidae. I treated them as if they were second class, uninteresting insects (as if such a thing exists!). As I pursue Nitidulid knowledge under George’s guidance I look forward to a greater appreciation of many aspects of being alive on this planet.

Even as I write this I am thinking about how much I have to learn about Lichens and the Lithosiini… So much to learn and so little time!

5 thoughts on “The uninteresting

  1. Jon Quist

    Have you ever been to the Bean Museum in Provo, Utah? I recall seeing a visitor there studying those groups in the lab around a year and a half ago while I was vollunteering there.
    Also, I feel your point at the end, there.

    Reply
    1. biologistsoup Post author

      No Jon, I haven’t been to the Bean Museum. I volunteer at the Orma J. Smith Museum in Caldwell, ID – nice collection – great folks! Do you volunteer at a museum in CA? I hope you are more time efficient than I am/was and get more done.

      Reply
  2. George Sims

    Kent is really blowing smoke here. I found a few of these things while poking around in a stinking, decaying deer corpse, and needed somebody to give me an ID. Kent’s been sending me more info on these beetles than I can read in a year. We thought we MIGHT have found the first instance of this species in Missouri, but were about 65 years too late. For some reason, I can’t get him to help me dig around in rotting carcasses?!?

    Reply
  3. George Sims

    The really cool thing about this species is that we hope to document it as a cold-weather species in the succession of arthropods on decaying carcasses. It seems to be present in the decay and late decay stages of decomposition, then disappears.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

