Entomopathic fungi

Last week, I was at a friends house and collected a specimen of a ‘frosty’ looking Hemipteran. At first I thought it was Raglius alboacuninatus, but this specimen doesn’t match very well. The ‘frostiness’ is due to spores of a fungus. I think the Beauveriafungus might be Beauveria bassiana, but I am not equipped to identify it¬†definitively. So I know almost nothing, except that this insect was crawling about with this level of infection.

Beauveria bassiana can be an aggressive insect pathogen, and is actually sold as insecticide. Perhaps I will find more as the season progresses.

Leave a Reply

