Yet another benefit of being in nature

This morning Conservation Magazine showed up in my email in box. In it was an article titled Wild Ideas about summarizing the recent PLOS One article: Creativity in the Wild: Improving Creative Reasoning through Immersion in Natural Settings. The article describes how immersion in nature without electronic devices boosted creativity, defined as problem solving ability.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASure there are some problems with this article: There were no hikers who hiked similar distances through urban areas and carried electronic devices, no hikers in wilderness with electronics, etc. The lack of controls make it difficult to determine what factors created the increase in problem solving ability. The picture at left shows me at work doing rare plant surveys, note the GPS device in my hands – does carrying a GPS and digital camera make me less able to solve problems that arise in field? I was also carrying a smart phone – does that mean if a problem came up I am doomed to not solve it? If I am using the electronic devices to help further immerse myself in nature, what then?

I think I will go take a hike…

One thought on “Yet another benefit of being in nature

  1. Pingback: Yet another benefit of being in nature « Philip's Blog

Leave a Reply

